St Ambrose Barlow Catholic Primary School

Our Governors

Mr Bernard O'Driscoll, our Chair of Governors.

Hello and welcome to our school website.

Our School is Voluntary-Aided and serves the parish of Saint Ambrose Barlow. Its Governing Body consists of both appointed and elected governors.

The aim of the Governor team at our school is to work with the staff to make St Ambrose Barlow Catholic Primary School an exciting, safe and happy environment in which the children can make the most of their God given talents.

The main role of a Governing Body is that of a 'critical friend', there to give direction, support and challenge to the school leadership.

We do this in the following ways:

  • Monitoring the performance and progress of our children;
  • Monitoring and evaluating of the Catholic life of the school;
  • Working with the staff to help them teach and care for our children;
  • Deciding on how the resources of the school are best used. We have prime responsibility for the finance of the school;
  • Providing a strategic review of the school - planning ahead so that the performance of our children and our school continues to improve.

Meetings of the full Governing Body are usually held once a term throughout the school year. Topics covered in meetings may include: planning the school's long term vision through the School Development Plan, the school budget, target setting and monitoring.

Much of the work however, is devolved to a series of committees to ensure the workload is dealt with effectively. Sub-committees focus on finance, staffing, health and safety and the curriculum.

To monitor the curriculum each governor has a link responsibility for one area of it and meets with the relevant member of staff (eg. RE, Numeracy, Literacy, SEN, ICT).

Governors generally hold their office for a period of four years at a time.

Correspondence for the Governors may be addressed to the Clerk to the Governing Body at the school.

Mr Bernard O'Driscoll
Chair of Governors

Members of our Governing Body

Name Title/Role
Mr B O'Driscoll Chair of Governors, Foundation Governor
Mrs M Grew Foundation Governor
Mrs M Griffin Foundation Governor
Mr J Hall Foundation Governor
Mr A Harries Foundation Governor
Fr Paul Johnson Foundation Governor
Mr M McMahon Foundation Governor
Mrs S Cunnane Parent Governor
Mr R English Parent Governor
Mrs K Jenkins Local Authority Representative
Mrs S Fayaz Staff Governor
Mrs M Winters Headteacher
Miss P James Clerk to the Governors (c/o St Ambrose Barlow School)

Also see:

Profiles of our Governing Body

Mr A Harries

Mr Harries

I am a member of St Ambrose Barlow Parish. I have been a governor for 18 years and before that I was treasurer of FOSABS for three years. I have worked on several committees during my time as governor and I am presently on the Finance Committee. My three children (Zosia, Marysia and Stefan) were at the school from around 1991 to 2001. All three have now graduated from University. I have been Finance Director of ThyssenKrupp Services Limited for the last 18 years.